How a Leftist Lesbian Professor, Who Once Despised Christians, Somehow Became One

100365
There are so many encouraging and edifying things in this article by Rosaria Butterfield: “My Train Wreck Conversion: As a leftist lesbian professor, I despised Christians. Then I somehow became one.” Here’s a quote from the article that demonstrates the kind of love and friendship that we need to show unbelievers:
“Something else happened. Ken and his wife, Floy, and I became friends. They entered my world. They met my friends. We did book exchanges. We talked openly about sexuality and politics. They did not act as if such conversations were polluting them. They did not treat me like a blank slate. When we ate together, Ken prayed in a way I had never heard before. His prayers were intimate. Vulnerable. He repented of his sin in front of me. He thanked God for all things. Ken’s God was holy and firm, yet full of mercy. And because Ken and Floy did not invite me to church, I knew it was safe to be friends. . .Then, one ordinary day, I came to Jesus, openhanded and naked. In this war of worldviews, Ken was there. Floy was there. The church that had been praying for me for years was there. Jesus triumphed. And I was a broken mess. Conversion was a train wreck. I did not want to lose everything that I loved. But the voice of God sang a sanguine love song in the rubble of my world. I weakly believed that if Jesus could conquer death, he could make right my world.”

You can also watch an interview with her here.

You can buy her book, The Secret Thought of an Unlikely Converthere.

Finally, you can read a thoughtful book review of her book by Carl Trueman here.

Leave a Reply

